The 50 States

No offense, but this chapter of the Heritage Studies book is a bit dry, especially since I don’t shell out the extra dollars for the BJU workbook.  However, I have an activity book we will use to supplement this chapter. Travel the Great States is a great little workbook that should make this chapter a bit more fun.  Plus, if you click that link & buy the book, I get Amazon Affiliate credit, so there’s that.

But seriously, this chapter splits America into 6 different regions & looks at the states in each one.

The 6 Regions of the United States… According to BJU Press.


  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • Vermont
  • New York
  • Massachusetts
  • Conneticut
  • Rhode Island
  • Pensylvania
  • New Jersey
  • Deleware
  • Maryland


  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C. (which technically isn’t a state, but neither Virginia nor Maryland wants to claim this piece of land as part of their state)
  • West Virginia
  • Kentucky
  • Tennessee
  • N. Carolina
  • S. Carolina
  • Georgia
  • Florida
  • Alabama
  • Mississippi
  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana


  • Ohio
  • Michigan
  • Indiana
  • Illinios
  • Missouri
  • Iowa
  • Wisconsin
  • Minnesota
  • N. Dakota
  • S. Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Kansas


  • Oklahoma
  • Texas
  • New Mexico
  • Arizona

Rocky Mountain

  • Montana
  • Wyoming
  • Colorado
  • Utah
  • Idaho
  • Nevada


  • Washington (the state)
  • Oregon
  • California
  • Alaska
  • Hawaii

Of course, no discussion of the 50 states would be complete without this little gem from the Animaniacs:



Read More:

The map I used to make mine is found here.
Plenty of games and such can be found at Learning Games For Kids.
The US Consulate of Hong Kong has some interesting stuff about the 50 States.
If you aren’t afraid of being tracked when you visit .gov sites, then has a listing of each state’s official “Kids!” pages.

Finally, this is another cute video from Marbles, the Brain Store:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Aprendemos Academy